michigan apples

It’s that time of year again! Max, Eitan, Joanna and I went apple and raspberry picking on Saturday morning. It was a gorgeous day and the trees were bursting with apples. The orchard we went to was unfortunately not organic (I’m not sure if there are any organic apple orchards around these parts), and you could see the pesticide residue on many of the apples. It made me very nervous, and I did my best not to touch my face or put my fingers in my mouth (read: eat with my hands) until after I got home and had a chance to wash them. I don’t know anything about the kinds of pesticides that growers use on apples now, and while they may be less toxic than they were in the days of alar, I didn’t want to take any chances. It was kind of frightening, though, to see the number of children whose parents were allowing them to eat right from the tree…

After stuffing ourselves with cinnamon-sugar donuts and cider, we returned home to prepare for Sunday brunch. Our first brunch with a theme (apples): apples & brie, apple pancakes, crepes with applesauce, apple cake with caramel sauce, bread with apple butter, as well as a vegetable frittata, savory crepes, and applewood smoked bacon…and it was ridiculously delicious. As was the caramel apple ice cream we just finished making. Mmm.

2 Comments

Filed under fruit, michigan

2 responses to “michigan apples

  1. Sonny

    ohh, don’t be so square, all the cool kids are doing pesticides off fruit and veggies these days…get with the times man

  2. Hi
    I’m not sure where you live but I found an organic apple farm called Almar Orchard in Flushing. You can also look at this website for a directory of organic farms http://www.moffa.org/page/page/4285002.htm

Leave a Reply

